Six Things Animal Crossing: New Horizons Should Add to Recapture their Fans’ Hearts

The legendary Nintendo franchise could be even better

Cam
7 min readFeb 12, 2022
Animal Crossing: New Horizons; photo courtesy of Nintendo

Like many people, Animal Crossing: New Horizons was my link to sanity during the early days of the COVID-19 pandemic. I fell in love with this classic franchise in 2018 after downloading Animal Crossing Pocket Camp, and my ardor only continued after my brother bought me a Nintendo DS and Animal Crossing: New Leaf that year. (If you’re curious, my favorite activity in Animal Crossing is diving!)

Since the release of New Horizons in 2020, Nintendo has released a few major updates to the game, bringing back fan favorites like Brewster, Kapp’n, and Lottie. A number of fun new areas, like the plaza at Harv’s Island and the Happy Home Paradise DLC, have recaptured lapsed players and enabled us to fall further in love with the franchise.

However, any game has the potential for improvements and tweaks, and here are five I have pondered over many a rainy evening on my island, Yume-ken. The majority of these come from older games in the franchise and would invite both nostalgia from veteran gamers and delight from newbies.

#1 Selling Fossils to Blathers

--

--